Top 10 Places to Watch for Hidden Gluten

Have you made the commitment to ditch gluten from your diet yet? Well, if you haven’t, you should. Two-thirds of us are actually gluten sensitive, and most of us haven’t checked for gluten sensitivity. Some of us never check. Gluten is a protein found in barley, oat, rye, wheat, and other products made from those ingredients.

Ditching gluten is one of the most important decisions you should make. A healthy person should try to at least lower their consumption of gluten, if not completely ditch it. Now, a lot of you might say that gluten sensitivity is more of a fiction than a fact, made up by companies so that they could better market their gluten-free products.

But I assure you, gluten intolerance is not fiction. It’s a fact. And eliminating gluten is the first step towards restoring your health. Consuming gluten can lead to development of many autoimmune diseases. Gluten causes leaky gut, increases inflammation, and generally causes your body to attack itself. Many chronic and inflammatory diseases are caused by gluten. And we are completely unaware of that.

Now, if ditching gluten is too much for you, at least test yourself so you can be sure you’re not sensitive to the protein. And if you need to eliminate gluten, you must do it properly.

There are many unexpected places where gluten is hiding. You might be fooled once or twice, but if you check labels and watch out for all products, you will be safe. Here is a list that will help you.

1. Body and beauty products

Since gluten is a protein that’s part of food, you don’t expect to find it in beauty products. And let’s be honest—you won’t be eating any lipstick, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, soap, or other body and beauty product any time soon. But gluten can penetrate into your body through the skin, which can cause problems for your body. When buying beauty products, make a commitment to look for companies and products that are toxin-free and gluten-free.

2. Medications and supplements

Protein supplements are a common thing nowadays. In our quest for a better body, more muscles, and less fat, we are all trying to get more protein into our body. We mentioned that gluten is actually a protein, so you need to be careful when selecting your protein supplement. No point in getting one with gluten. That will do more harm than good!

Some medications and herbal formulas also contain gluten. They have fillers like dextrin that come from corn or wheat. As with beauty products, you need to look for companies that manufacture verified gluten-free products and third-party testing.

3. Play-Doh

Kids love Play-Doh. And it’s understandable—after all, it’s loads of fun. But you need to know that Play-Doh is made out of salt, water, and wheat flour, and some of that wheat flour might contain gluten. Some paints also have wheat-derived ingredients. So, watch for paint as well.

4. Stamps and envelopes

I know what you’re thinking: How can I consume gluten from stamps and envelopes? Well, I hope you’re not licking them before using. Use a sponge to dampen and seal the envelope. The adhesive used to make stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten. It’s best to be safe than sorry.

5. Scrambled eggs

You would think that scrambled eggs are gluten-free. But that’s when you make them at home. The problem is restaurants don’t cook the way you do. Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs. Basic batter is made of flour, beer, and some salt. It’s used to coat food before frying.

Some restaurants even go a step further and buy packaged egg products that already contain batter. The purpose of batter is to make scrambled eggs fluffier. The chef and the waiter might not be aware they are using and serving you products with gluten. In any case, ask, and you will know for sure.

6. Sauces and condiments

I’m sorry to be the one to bring you bad news, but nearly all condiments and sauces contain gluten. Yes, there are gluten-free condiments, but as a general rule of thumb, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy, salad dressings, ketchup, and mayonnaise all contain gluten.

7. Luncheon meals, vegan meat substitutes

Beef jerky contains soy sauce. Crab meat used in many sushi rolls is actually an imitation crabmeat that has wheat as a stabilizer. In many luncheon meals, wheat is used as a filler. Vegan meals and veggie burgers can also contain gluten. After all, they are made of wheat, or contain some other troublesome ingredients. Being vegan is not always healthier than being a meat eater.

8. Mashed potatoes

As with scrambled eggs, mashed potatoes can be cooked with a technique that requires gluten. I don’t know how you make mashed potatoes at home, but in restaurants, chefs sometimes add flour to thicken the mashed potatoes. And nobody can guarantee you that the flour is gluten-free.

9. Alcohol

As a general rule of thumb, beer contains gluten. After all, beer contains barley as one of the main ingredients. The other ingredients are water, hops, and yeast, but barley is the main ingredient. And if you thought you could drink distilled liquor, think again. Even vodka can be made from wheat. Most gluten tolerance tests recommend eliminating alcohol entirely in the first 30 days to make sure gluten-sensitivity symptoms don’t pop up.

10. Candy

When it comes to candy, it’s essential to read the ingredients. Not only because of gluten, but because of hidden sugars and additives as well. Regarding gluten, licorice and solid candies usually are made from wheat flour.

Top 10 Places to Watch for Hidden Gluten

What do you think ?

Leave a Comment

Like what you're reading?

Subscribe to our top stories

Also on Ritely