Shogun Rua Comes Back From The Shadow Realm & Knocks Out Pedro

Former UFC light heavyweight champion Mauricio Rua has bounced back from his previous loss after finishing off Tyson Pedro in the co-main event of the UFC Fight Night 142 in Adelaide, Australia. 

The Brazilian mixed martial artist bucked a slow start and turned to his craft en route to a technical knockout victory against his younger opponent in their light heavyweight showdown, Saturday night.

Bounce Back Win

‘Shogun’ who was knocked out by Anthony Smith last July in Germany, avoided, a what could be, another devastating finish as he turned the table on Pedro after being beaten in the early round. A bloodied Rua entered the second round as he was at the receiving end of Pedro’s savage uppercut and wild body and head kicks.

Pedro may have done a brutal damage on the Brazillian fighter but his biggest mistake was leaving the door opened for his veteran opponent. Shogun snatched the momentum in the next round, where Pedro did not make any significant shot, before landing a devastating knee in the third, which sent the Australian down the mat. Watch Shogun’s third-round stoppage win over Pedro in the video below:

The PRIDE Grand Prix winner improved to a 26-11 win-loss record while Pedro absorbed his third loss in ten fights.

Check out the full result of UFC FIGHT NIGHT 142 (via

Junior Dos Santos vs. Tai Tuivasa — Dos Santos def. Tuivasa by TKO (strikes) at 2:30 of Round Two
Tyson Pedro vs. Mauricio Rua — Rua def. Pedro by TKO (strikes) at 0:43 of Round Three
Mark Hunt vs. Justin Willis — Willis def. Hunt by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Tony Martin vs. Jake Matthews — Martin def. Matthews by technical submission (anaconda choke) at 1:19 of Round One
Suman Mokhtarian vs. Sodiq Yusuff — Yusuff def. Mokhtarian by TKO (punches) at 2:14 of Round One
Paul Craig vs. Jim Crute — Crute def. Craig by submission (kimura) at 4:51 of Round Three
Alexey Kunchenko vs. Yushin Okami — Kunchenko def. Okami by unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 30-27)
Ben Nguyen vs. Wilson Reis — Reis def. Nguyen by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Keita Nakamura vs. Salim Touahri — Nakamura def. Touahri by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28 )
Kai Kara-France vs. Elias Garcia — Kara-France def. Garcia by unanimous decision (30-25 x2, 30-26)
Christos Giagos vs. Mizuto Hirota — Giagos def. Hirota by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 30-28)
Alex Gorgees vs. Damir Ismagulov — Ismagulov def. Gorgees by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26 x2)

What do you think ?

Leave a Comment

Like what you're reading?

Subscribe to our top stories

Also on Ritely