Demetrious Johnson Smashes Through First Opponent In ONE Grand Prix

    Both Eddie Alvarez and Demetrious Johnson made their ONE FC debuts in the early hours of this morning. While Eddie came up short, Demetrious ‘Mighty Mouse’ Johnson put himself back in the win column in his ONE debut.

    Since losing for the first time in 7 years to now Flyweight champion, Henry Cejudo. Demetrious has not held his head low, he got back to the grind and here he is back to his winning ways again. Some fighters find it hard to bounce back after a loss, not DJ.

    ‘Mighty Mouse’ left the UFC as the first ever ‘trade’ in MMA history. Being exchanged for Ben Askren. He was able to prove why he is the most dominant UFC Champion to date by submitting his opponent in brutal fashion.

    His opponent, Yuya Wakamatsu is no joke either. With 9 of his 10 wins by way of knockout. His stand up was really something to be worried about for Mighty Mouse. However, when doesn’t DJ try his luck with adversity…

    As soon as Johnson could, he initiated his grappling techniques and from there it was obvious that the calibre of grappling in DJ was much higher than his opponent. Of course, there is a different ruleset in ONE regarding certain strikes. One is the use of knees to the head of a downed opponent. DJ seemed to love those…

    The fight only lasted till the second round where Johnson secured one of the tightest guillotines we’ve seen for a very long time. Forcing Wakamatsu to tap rather swiftly. DJ then followed with his signature celebration and he looked unbelievably happy after his win. What a way to make your debut.

    This win puts Mighty Mouse in the semi-finals of the ONE FC Flyweight Grand Prix. Do you think he could go on to win it?

    Here are the results list so far from ONE FC 92:


    Champ Eduard Folayang vs. Shinya Aoki – for lightweight title Champ

    Jing Nan Xiong vs. Angela Lee – for strawweight title

    Champ Aung La N Sang vs. Ken Hasegawa – for the middleweight title

    Champ Kevin Belingon vs. Bibiano Fernandes – for the bantamweight title

    Demetrious Johnson def. Yuya Wakamatsu via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 2, 2:40 – flyweight world grand prix quarterfinal

    Timofey Nastyukhin def. Eddie Alvarez via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 4:05 – lightweight world grand prix quarterfinal


    Danny Kingad def. Senzo Ikeda via unanimous decision – flyweight world grand prix quarterfinal

    Kairat Akhmetov def. Reece McLaren via unanimous decision – flyweight world grand prix quarterfinal

    Mei Yamaguchi def. Kseniya Lachkova via submission (armbar) – Round 3, 3:14

    Garry Tonon def. Anthony Engelen via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 4:12

    Chang Min Yoon def. Bala Shetty via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 4:16

    What do you think ?

    Leave a Comment

    Like what you're reading?

    Subscribe to our top stories

    Also on Ritely